Georgia Speeding ticket going 86 in a 70 zone. When paying ticket online it shows the fine as $180. Will I get hit with any other fines? Should I go to court? I live 5 hours away in different county. Have received several letters from attorneys in GA with offers to go to court for me. What’s the best way to handle this? Will drive down and represent myself if that’s the best route.
If you simply just pay the fine, the citation will be reported to the DMV and you will receive another fine from the state for $200.00 as well as points on your license. To avoid points, chance of insurance premiums rising, and the additional fine you may contact us for further consultation at 912-437-4544.
In Georgia, speeding at 85+ mph will result in you’re being designated as a “Super Speeder” and after you pay your fine in McIntosh County, you will receive a notice from the Georgia Department of Driver Services that you must pay the State a $200 Super Speeder fee. In addition, Georgia assesses 2 points for the speed you were charged with. Depending on your particular circumstances, there are possible ways to avoid the Super Speeder designation, the points, and to perhaps keep this off of your record altogether. Remember, too, that if you don’t address this in Georgia, it can have additional impact in your home state (some states, e.g. North Carolina, Illinois, and a few others especially). Give us a call and we can discuss it with you.
Ham & Jenkins, Attorneys