I got pulled over for speeding, i only had my permit. I did not get charged with driving without a license, but he did give me a ticket. This was two years ago, this August. I’m planning on getting my license soon but I know I can’t because of this. What would be the best course of action to get this cleared up fast.
Goodafternoon. In order to reintstate your license, you will need to recalendar and dispose of the original citation; once paid, you should be able to pay the DMV reinstatement fee and obtain your license. Hiring an attorney may be of assistance to you as all FTA’s (failures to appear) result in a $200 FTA fee in addition to any court cost and fine. An attorney may be able to remove the $200 fee and lift the indefinite suspension that’s keeping you suspended; likewise, an attorney might assist you to handle the original citiation in such a way that might keep you from incurring insurance and license points. Additionally, driving before your license is reinstated may result in you receiving a citation for driving while license revoked, a class 3 misdemeanor in North Carolina. Oftentimes, unresolved matters with DMV layer upon each other so you would want to take care of this matter as soon as you can prior to receiving any other tickets. I hope you find this information helpful.
I do not work in Sampson County, and therefore, I am not familiar with their procedures. However, the issue that you have described in North Carolina is pretty standard. There are several twists and turns in getting this done. It would be much easier for me to speak with you over the phone, otherwise, I could be here typing a novel. Please call my office tomorrow morning, preferably late morning, for a free phone consultation. I look forward to speaking with you then.
Hatcher Law Office, PLLC
130 N McDowell Street, Suite D
Charlotte, North Carolina 28204