The following article was authored by Scott R Ball (pictured above), a Southern California attorney with offices in Santa Ana, CA. More information about Scott and his firm can be found on his website: www.octicketdefense.com
If you’ve been cited for one of the many violations dealing with accidents and insurance, it could end up costing you thousands of dollars in fines, an increase in your car insurance premiums, and even a suspension of your license. With a skilled attorney experienced in defending traffic tickets, however, you can fight your traffic ticket and win. Learn more about the most common accident and insurance traffic violations:
VC 16028(a) – Proof of insurance. This section of the Vehicle Code requires that you carry proof that the vehicle you are driving is insured. Anytime you are questioned by an officer for proof of insurance, you must produce it or you may be cited. There are two basic ways to be cited for breaking this law:
o If you have insurance but no proof. If you actually do have insurance but merely weren’t carrying the card with you when you were pulled over, this is relatively easy to have dismissed by giving a copy of your current insurance policy or card to the court. Don’t forget to do this, however, as failing to provide proof of insurance is punishable by a fine of over $900!
o If you didn’t have insurance when you were cited. If you are cited for violating this section and you simply did not have insurance, you can still get insurance after the fact. If you can provide the court proof that you got insurance later, the court can lower the fine to around $500.
VC 16075 – Mandatory reporting of certain accidents. This section requires that in any accident involving personal injury or damage of at least $750, all drivers must file an accident report and provide evidence of insurance. Failing to do so can result in the suspension of your license for one year. In fact, even if you are driving someone else’s vehicle, you must comply with this section.
VC 16025 – Exchange of information at accidents. Even if the accident in which you were involved is very minor and less than $750 worth of damage is involved, you are still required by law to exchange information with other drivers involved. If you fail to disclose your name, address, driver’s license number, vehicle identification number, or insurance information, you can be found guilty of an infraction with another hefty fine.
If you have been cited for any of these common traffic infractions, it would be wise of you to contact an attorney today. Often, these sorts of tickets can be reduced to much less expensive violations or even completely dismissed. If you would like a free and completely confidential evaluation of your case, contact the Law Offices of Scott R. Ball today.
I don’t qualify for a reply , but I wish did . My speeding ticket in Hanford ca. for 55mph in a 45mph zone (written just like it says)was labeled vc.22350 ‘or’ 16 to 25mph over. The fine amount is extreme and I’ve googled my heart out (for)comprehensive list of CA. vc laws¤t fine amounts . I don’t know where to look, nor how to be heard when I come forward to pay for a 10mph over, fine. wrongly stated as a vc22350. Nearly $150.00 more. (please help Lord)Gary
VC 22350 (basic speed rule violation) is the correct code for a 45 MPH zone. Normally the fine should be $200 or $300 for 10 over, once all of the added assessments and fees are added. Yes, California truly is one of the most expensive places to get a ticket. I hope this answers your question.